Fri night lame party question (Corp Fin)

When bootstrapping, the acquiring firm: A) increases current earnings per share (EPS) and increases the total number of shares outstanding. B) decreases current earnings per share (EPS) and decreases the total number of shares outstanding. C) increases current earnings per share (EPS) and decreases the total number of shares outstanding. D) decreases current earnings per share (EPS) and increases the total number of shares outstanding.

Its Friday night and I am studying too. My choice: C Follow up: Bootstrapping is only possible when: A) Target company’s P/E is greater than the acquiring company’s P/E B) Acquiring company’s P/E is greater than the target company’s P/E C) Target company’s P/B is greater than the acquiring company’s P/B D) Acquiring company’s P/B is greater than the target company’s P/B

C

No idea, I just opened corp fin first page 2 minutes ago. I’ll toast to a friday night study party tho. Please post explanations with answers for my benefit.

A and B

I know the answer to Niblita75’s has something to do with P/E. I’m feeling like ‘A’

For Slouiscar’s Q, answer is C For Niblita’s 75, answer is B - the acquiring co’s PE must be greater for bootstrapping to work.

clama Wrote: ------------------------------------------------------- > For Slouiscar’s Q, answer is C > For Niblita’s 75, answer is B - the acquiring co’s > PE must be greater for bootstrapping to work. I support clama.

We are all such lousy dates.

1. A 2. B For question 1; If bootstrapping requires the acquiring firm to issue new shares, should the total number of shares outstanding not increase? Just a lil confused why people are choosing C. Maybe I’m mistaken, please explain if you can.

Why would anyone think that 1 is A? (??) The whole point of acquiring a company in a stock transaction is that new shares will be issued.