From back office intern in 2009 to buy side analyst in 2011

I was a back office intern in 2009 with a master in finance from the 3rd tier university.

Now I’m a buy side analyst, working with traders and people from top MBAs in the world.

What changed in between ?

I cleared my CFA level 1 during the internship, which allowed me to then move to a new position as a sales assistant for a firm where all sales were required to be CFA charterholders.

I there learned a lot about a certain type of financial products, and cleared CFA level 2. This allowed me to have stuff to talk about when being interviewed for a buy side analyst position, and to compete with other candidates with top degrees. They paid their MBA 50k a year, I paid my CFA 100 times less.

So to all of you who have doubts, stay motivated :wink:

All the sales positions required a CFA? I’ve never heard of that, and that’s kinda hard to believe. buyside and PM’s required to have a CFA is believable, but sales??

sales in this situation = selling alternative investments to institutional clients. i guess some of these clients appreciate having in front of them salespeople knowing what they’re talking about, instead of just hot chicks with a liberal arts degree. i have no incentive to tell this story if it’s not true. so nothing “hard to believe” here.

congratulations dude! your profile says Switzerland - how is the job market there? Is it all doom and gloom like here in the US?

Someone needs to take off their tinfoil hat…

Yeah, but in THIS economy… :wink: