from commodities trader to CFA ...

Hello everyone I have been lurking around for quite a while now, but couldn’t find the answer to my dilemma. I am thinking about taking the CFA exams, but I am not quite sure if this is the right career path for me. I have a bachelors in Marketing and a CTA (Commodities Trading Advisor) certification. I have been trading commodities for a living for a few years now. Although the money is good, I am tired of the “feast or famine” life style. I am looking for a more stable job right now, but there aren’t too many around that require my skills. Do you think I should pursue CFA or keep trying till I find something in my field of expertise, commodities? Is there anybody out there in the same situation? Thanks so much for your time :slight_smile:

do you trade your own money? work for a cta? fund ? etc thats awesome. thats what i want to do, i am currently on a futures sales desk at a bank. anyways go for your cfa. i am a L3 candidate and i have learned so much thus far.

nikko0355 Wrote: ------------------------------------------------------- > do you trade your own money? work for a cta? fund > ? etc > thats awesome. I work for a CTA. Don’t get me wrong, I love what I do except for the insecurity of the paycheck. I am just wondering how useful it is a CFA to somebody with my background … Maybe I should get CAIA instead?

Get CFA first. Worth much more. CAIA can come second if necessary. I have them both, CFA was much more difficult. You learn a lot in CAIA, but will not drastically improve your marketability.

I’ve never heard of a CTA certification. Your company can be registered as a Commodity Trading Advisor with NFA and CFTC.

Maybe he passed the NASD series 3 exam.

Rydex Wrote: ------------------------------------------------------- > Maybe he passed the NASD series 3 exam. Maybe. Though it would be more of an AP with a CTA certification then.