fund accounting

hi, would some fund accounting experience help in the progress towards wealth management oriented roles? Personally I think it as least would not hurt what are your opinions on fund accounting as a job?

Although i see alot of people on the BS who started as a fund accountant, i personally think it is one of the shittiest jobs possible

Why is that buddha? I mean why is it shitty? Too repetetive?

hotdawg Wrote: ------------------------------------------------------- > hi, > > would some fund accounting experience help in the > progress towards wealth management oriented roles? > Personally I think it as least would not hurt > > what are your opinions on fund accounting as a > job? The job sucks but it will help you get those roles. Problem is that those roles won’t pay more than your fund accounting job. You’ll have to bring in clients to make any money at all.

I started out in funds accounting right out of college. I really didn’t like the job (daily reconciliations of mutual fund NAVs, yawn…), but it got me into a good company that had a lot of other departments. I ended up moving on to performance analysis, than onto investment consulting, and now I’m in the sell-side equity research department. The funds accounting job won’t count towards work experience for the charter (it didn’t for me), but if it gets you into a good firm with other areas you’re interested in, it could be worthwhile…

FA sucks hard…but it beats doing nothing

JRH, I have a question about investment consulting. The job title is pretty broad (at least to me), is it similar to performance analysis or is it more of a quality control/risk management position? What does it entail? Thanks

So the general consensus is that Fund Accounting sux, but it is a good place to start as long as you don’t do it for too long?