General question

Hello everyone,

I have a general question - when you started to prepare for the exam, did you tell your colleagues / friends about it? Or did you say it just when you passed?

Thank you.

I told my close friends (some colleagues included) when I started to prepare for the exam; the frnds who would motivate me to study or help me in studying. I did not tell my other colleagues or friends until I passed.

Telling other people can sometimes create unnecessary attention but I feel a little social pressure is healthy for me to push myself. Still it would totally be a personal choice if you want to have that or not.

I would suggest that you tell those with whom you feel comfortable or close with (just like your family), the ppl who will not put unnecessary pressure on you but rather help you pass the exam. Don’t tell others who will be jealous or create negative vibes. All the best !

Told friends when I started studying…told colleagues once I passed LVL1 and had decided I’d earn the Charter, what ever it takes.

There were so CFA hopefuls pursuing Charter (at least in my office)…everyone was so hyped about it in the beginning and then the excitement wore off. Few months in and first ones gave up or “decided that now is not the right time to do it” etc etc.

Just thinking about your reputation, I don’t think it’s a good look if you announce to everyone that you’re pursuing Charter just to announce few months later that you quit. And being the guy who quit LVL1 is not good for two reasons. One: It tells your colleagues and boss that you quit. Quitting is rarely regarded as a positive thing. Two: It indirectly tells your colleagues that LVL1 material was too complicated for you. As LVL1 curriculum (or any CFA level for that matter) isn’t rocket science, you might not want to let everyone know that LVL1 got the best of you.

So just to be on the safe side, tell your co-workers that you’re pursuing the Charter only after you have cleared LVL1.