GIPS - CFAI or Schweser

Hey guys, I apologize if this has been asked before - I tried searching and did not get any hits so thought I would ask this myself. My strategy (luckily successful) for Levels 1 and 2 were to read Schweser as my base study guide and then do CFAI EOC questions. I have done the same for L3 prep so far. I am in my final chapter now - GIPS - should I do the same thing? Can I trust Schweser? Or would you guys suggest reading from CFAI? I appreciate your help greatly! Good luck to all your AF members…

GIPS, CFAI all the way. I have read both, but you get a lot more clarity from the way CFAI has explained them and thats how they will test them. At the end of the day it is all about memorization anyway.

Thanks, considering you have read both and noticed CFAI to be better, I will do that as well. Anybody else think differently? I think this is the general consensus.

General consensus is that everyone hates GIPS! I studied in CFAI books and use the pack of schweser for time to time refresher. Off-topic but I wonder how this might be valuable…Is there a certification for company which pefrom gips-compliance audit?

The more commentary/explanation I read about GIPS, the more confused I become. I would go with CFAI - or, better yet, start with reading through the source document itself - http://www.gipsstandards.org/standards/current/2010_edition_gips.html

Yeah, audit firms do GIPS compliance audits. Too bad I work for one and haven’t worked on a GIPS audit! Could have been so useful!

Schweser >>>> CFAI. CFAI’s “hide and seek” approach to putting down all the standards is mind numbing. They don’t even put them in order.

I would hope the questions are MC format, and not essay type.