going out drinking before the CFA exam?

Last december my company Xmas party was the night before the CFA L1… as a recent graduate I felt compelled to not only go to the Xmas party but to get borderline hammered… ended up passing L1. Friend happened to be in town night before L2… I went out to have a drink or two… turned into getting more or less hammered… passed L2. Similar situation with GRE exam… ended up with 800 quant. CFP exam is a 2 day exam… went out drinking before both days… honestly thought I was gonna fail… ended up passing… Anyone do anything similarily as stupid?

You should put this on your resume so that your employer and clients know that when you come back from a liquid lunch you will be a better analyst

I think it shows you are a naturally bright/smart guy. If I went out before a CFA exam and got borderline hammered, there is no way I would pass. That is just me though. My wife went out the night before her LSAT and got a better score than the first time when she stayed in all night.

It probably helped that my usual study spot was a Taco Bell… so I could get free refills on the caffiene. I think grabbing 4th meal is crucial to surviving the next day. Only downside… don’t have nearly as much energy or desire to get schwasted the evening after the exams. L3 would prob. be too tough to pass… I feel like you need to be “all there” to handle the essays.

I think going out before a big exam helps you relax. My first final of college freshman year I went to still drunk from the night before and ended up with a 94 on it.

I like to polish off a bottle of Gin before any big event. The only way to go…

Gin? I’ll give you props for that… bad experience New Years freshman year… don’t mess with Gin anymore.

Welcome to our way of getting through life :wink: