Google=Dow component??

When will we see this, I doubt they’ll ever split their shares, maybe that is what keeps it back. But I mean, it’s plausible in the next few years isn’t it?

I would find that totally unacceptable.

Why is that Joey? Willy

Microsoft is, a decade ago that would have seemed dicey. I’m not aruging for or against it, just wondering why? I’m still new to this stuff I guess.

It would be stupid to add such a volatile stock to the Dow especially since it is a price weighted index and not a cap weighted index. Also, Dow companies are typically companies that are time-weathered which at this point GOOG is not.

That is not a valid reason. What about a stock like Eastman Kodak that went from a peak of $90 to $30 when it before it was replaced in 2004? In between there were several double digit down days. The Dow has had many “volatile” stocks throughout its history and that should not be a criteria for inlcusion or exclusion of a name.

good discussion. I think it will be something that needs to be asked at least, especially if Google starts building phones and other hardware. Many Dow companies are an iconic part of everyday life in America. Drive a GM to work, fill up the SUV at Exxon and pick up some McDonald’s which comes with Coke. Login to your IBM computer built with an Intel processor and Microsoft software etc.

RAwannabeCFA Wrote: ------------------------------------------------------- > It would be stupid to add such a volatile stock to > the Dow especially since it is a price weighted > index and not a cap weighted index. Also, Dow > companies are typically companies that are > time-weathered which at this point GOOG is not. I’d guess the WSJ profits from market volatility. What line of business are you in?