Graduating in April, looking for some advice

Hello all, First off I just recently discovered this website from a facebook link, and it has been terrific, so many like-minded people. Anyways, I am a fourth year Business Admin student concentrating in Accounting and I will be graduating in April. I will be enrolled in the Dec 08’ L1 CFA exam within the next month or so. My aspirations are to work in ER, and, perhaps naively, I think that my education in accounting and enrollment within the CFA program should help me along the way. My problem is that my University is not heavily recruited for in investments, more accounting type jobs, so I don’t get the opportunity to meet with a lot of companies. What do you recommend for getting that interview, is it nothing more then the cliche pounding the pavement and eventually you get your chance? Is there anywhere in particular I should be looking. If it helps I will be looking in Toronto. Thanks

Do you go to York? There are some job postings at the career center (CF, research). You also have some alumni on the street too so go contact them.

Plastics.

wow - every other post is about how do i find a job. how do i find a job in NY/toronto/ mid sized city (atlanta, peg, CGY) with the following academic background and work experience less than 2 years or irrelevant work experience… you find a job by searching. start with that function here!

do you go to western and not ivey perhaps???

are you pursuing any accounting designations (CA, CGA, CMA) in addition to CFA? scotia capital is hiring recent grads. do u want to work for any of the big banks? scotia, bmo, cibc?