Guide to Pass CFA Level I for Stalla Users

Background. I promised myself that I’d write a guide detailing how I studied for the CFA exam if I passed it. Now that I have received my results, I’m fulfilling that promise and I’m typing up in a short, succinct and to-the-point manner what I did in order to have felt confident while taking the exam. When I studied for this exam, I was in my last semester of Engineering undergraduate studies and was taking only one course that required on average 5 hours of studying per week. Most of the material was new to me, with the exception of quantitative methods, which I knew very well because I’d seen similar material in my engineering courses. In this guide, I will not be revealing anything that came on the exam. However, I will be describing how I studied, what I focused on, which problems I solved and how I used the Stalla course pack to my benefit. There are some things that I realized I could have done differently and better now that I look back at it. I will also be sharing that with you. For the purpose of structure, this guide will be divided into three parts. The first part will be about managing expectations and the reason I’m actually writing this. The second part will cover exactly how I studied and how I managed time. In the third part I reflect on what I could have done better. I purchased the Enhanced Study System from Stalla and so this study guide is geared towards those of you who have similar resources. If you bought the Kaplan (Schweser) system, you will find this guide useful because the two programs are very similar and offer exactly the same resources. Managing expectations. The CFA Level I exam is not easy. It’s as demanding and challenging as you’ve read and been told, but it’s not impossible. There’s a lot of information to be taken in, and there are many details that you need to know. All questions carry the same weight and so trivial pursuit questions are as important as the questions you have to work