Hedge Fund Interview

I have an interview coming up with a hedge fund. They have a completely flexible investment strategy allowing them to invest in everything from public markets, private transactions, distressed debt, venture capital etc. From what I can tell I would not have a main focus but would be a generalist for all types of investment analysis. My background is in portfolio management so I don’t really have practical experience in valuing securities other than the concepts I have learned through the CFA program. Anyone have any ideas on how to prepare for such an interview? It seems like this could go in any direction. Also can someone refresh my memory on some of the differences between analyzing distressed securities vs. traditional credit analysis?

Hmm. Depends on what sort of fund this is. In general, traditional credit analysis relies on continuous processes (maybe jump diffusion for special events) since spreads vary continuously. For distressed debt, discrete processes are much more important since default risk is much higher.

^ off topic - How did you get the call from this firm? Recruiter/positing/network?

It was from a recruiter.