help, career direction~~

Hi all, this is my 1st post here, i read a few posts, excellent ppl here!! please help me to clear my career development… i’m studying towards Dec CFA level 1, BA commerce, major accounting & finance, currently working as a corporate actions analyst in a large Aust custodian for 9 mths. at the moment, financial reporting team inviting me to join them as an investment accountant, one level up compared with my current role. should i take it??? i understand that i’m not gona to be an accountant nor stary in custody longer than 1.5-2yrs, i know that role’s doing nothing with cfa study, while i think it’s not a bad idea to do sth different before i get cfa level1/2, rite? i find it’s kind of easy for me to get the a similar role as a corporate action officer in IB BO doing operation job, should i go for it? should i try to get into IB first? is that investment accountant experience + cfa level1/2 is gona to expand my opportunities to get into IB? sth. in mid office (ie. risk mgt, product control, etc.) really confused… please please please help! any tips, any advises will help! also, in long run, i want to work in Asia (HK, Shanghai, etc) which will be closer to my parents, i dont think custody exp it that good, is it correct? THANK YOU VERY VERY MUCH!!!

If you are going to do accounting work starting out, it’s better to be doing it in house at an asset manager, rather than at a custodian. The benefit of doing in at an asset manager is that there is the potential for advancement to other functions that are more closely related to the investment process. Therefore, I would suggest that you find similar employment with an asset manager, and pass your CFA exams. After a couple of year you will be in a good position to do something more analytical.