Help: London Job Search

Hi, I am currently looking for a job in London and I’d like to know where I should aim in terms of salary. I have less than 3 years work experience, entirely in risk management, I am a Level III candidate, PRM, FRM, I hold a MSc Finance from a top European university and I am proficient in programming. I am now interviewing for some jobs with base salary ranging from 50k to 70k and I was wondering if you think that this is appropriate. I am also thinking of moving to a FO job (trading / structuring). Your hopinion is greatly appreciated.

50-70k sounds about right. I doubt you would get more. I would not worry about 5-10k in your base if you are aiming for trading or other FO roles. Your bonus will usually be a multiple anyway.

Aim for 65 thousand pounds base.

Neud Wrote: ------------------------------------------------------- > Aim for 65 thousand pounds base. In risk management? I would not hold my breath. Less than 3 years of experience… An associate in IB / S&T makes a base of £60k and that takes 3 years for about 90% of people. Risk management gets the same base without bonus upside. For me, I would have said £50-55k. I know someone at UBS in risk management. 3 years of experience and I’d be very surprised if he is on more than £50k.