help with career path

I am a recent graduate with BSc Estate Management, trying to get into Financial analysis… I am currently doing a graduate internship at an investment company but i am given little or no responsibilities at all. Their excuse being i do not have the required background, please do i get the background by registering for cfa or doing a masters degree in finance. i am really interested in this field. Thank you

^ You from Nigeria?

yup

I hear there is good money in managing money for war lords. You should look into that, just don’t bet it all on shorting Skyfleet stock and try to blow up the plane.

What did they hire you for if they weren’t going to give you work? Were you hired as an investment analyst or something else?

Couple thoughts:

1. Make sure they know you’re willing to start at the beginning…Formatting investor reporting or spot-checking…Whatever it takes to start getting the experience. Once you show you’re at least a competent individual, most people are willing to teach as long as you show you are grateful and eager to learn.

2. Sit down with your manager or whoever else you can and ask them to talk through what the path looks like to getting the right background. If you’re in an internship now, I’d assume you’re early in your career. If your view is you’d like to work for this company, their opinion is most important – at the very least it will be a starting point.

I think the question I’d seek to answer is whether “not having the right background” means that there’s a line or two missing from your resume or if the requisite knowledge/eagerness to learn is missing from their view of you as a professional.

hahaha…