Helpful Tip from Someone Who Took L2 3 Times

Hi Everyone,

CFA L2 is a much different exam than L1, which requires a much different study routine in my opinion. I failed L2 2 times, and finally passed on my 3rd try. It was a long and dark period of my life. I am now a charterholder, I passed L3 in 2019, so now I am done. The feeling is amazing, and if you keep working hard you will pass. So here is how I passed level 2:

Products I purchased: Kaplan Schweser Books & QBank Chalk & Board - Nathan Ronen’s Video Series (I am not affiliated or paid by any of these companies.)

How I studied: In October, get the CFA Institute books and start reading the sections you hate. Don’t kill yourself, just familiarize. First read is just skimming through the pages to see what the chapter covers. Second read is to point out the major areas that link to the LOS. Plan on reviewing all the books between October and January 15th. Save ethics and GIPS for the last month.

In mid-January start watching Nathan’s videos (or another video series if you prefer) to help hone down the lessons. I benefit a lot from someone explaining the sections and issues to me. I did do Schwesers videos, but hated them because they just re-read the CFA material. Nathan, in my opinion, does the best job explaining how to solve the problem and what to watch out for that will trip you up. Plus he is very responsive to questions you have, at no extra charge. That is invaluable. Don’t start a video until you have read the CFA chapters. And read the CFA books, and use the Kaplan Schweser to fill in areas you are struggling with and use for extra questions.