Hidden Lease Liabilities?

Was trying to calculate the net debt figure for enterprise value but was confused by the Lease Liabilities line item. I read that the ASU 842 and IFRS 16 require companies to recognized lease liabilities. However, I don’t see the Lease liability line item under CheckPoint (CHKP) balance sheet in their 20F even though I saw that they recognized lease liabilities of 30.7m in their notes. Can the lease liabilities item be hidden under “Other Liabilities”?

I’m still very new to financial analysis so any help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks

Yes, unfer new GAAP, the distinction between operating and finance leases was removed. Now, all leases are finance leases, recorded as ‘rights of use assets’ and ‘rights of use liabiliries’.

If the amount is small as you suggest, it might well be included in ‘other’ and disclosed in footnotes. So the $30.7mn is probably correct. You can confirm by checkung on the asset side, the number should be consistent.

Though you also have to be careful with your EBITDA if you add leases to net debt. This is because rights of use assets are accounted for just like finance leases. This means the annual cost is split between a finance charge and a capital depreciation. So part of the depreciation is actually cash, so you need to make sure your EBITDA is consistent with your net debt. If you do EBITDA = EBIT + D/A from CF statement, you might be understating EBITDA.

Though if the amoubts are small, it wont move the dial, but if you’re running comps you want to be diligent.

1 Like

Thanks for the reminder! Yup, I’m actually doing comps for my analysis but I realized the 10-Q (for CheckPoint) doesn’t provide footnotes for ‘Other liabilities’. Do you think I should just exclude it since it might not be material or try to source it from the earlier 10-K?