Honest Opinion Needed

Hi! Hope you are all doing fine. I need honest opinions. I am doing a masters in quantitative finance from the university of london and i am 30 years of age. I am also getting an accounting certification till I am 33. Is it too old for me to get an entry level job as a financial analyst or in investment banking?

I have two years work experience as a financial manager of a small company.

What is it exactly that you want to do in Investments?

1 Like

In my perspective, it’s never too old to work in the field that you aspire. However, it is also worth thinking about why you want that career, and what’s your 5-10 years plan. Also, is getting an accounting certification a part-time thing or full time? Try to make it a part time thing if possible, that will give you more work experience on the belt.

He is too old. Too old to begin the training.

1 Like

In all seriousness and honesty…
Yes, at 30, you’re going to have some serious age bias. When I was your age, I was going through something similar with applying at Big 4 auditing firms. They wouldn’t even look at my resume.

Right wrong or indifferent, these “ivory tower” folks have an ideal candidate in mind. (I’m speaking about Big 4 Audit, but I’m sure PIMCO and Goldman Sachs are similar.) BBA in accounting with the 5th-year option to be CPA ready, 23 years old, not married, no kids (because married with kids means that you won’t want to work the 75 hour work weeks), finished a semester-long internship, etc.

If you’re 30, then you probably have less energy and desire to work 75 hour work weeks. Plus, since you’re doing this in your 30’s (instead of at 21), then they probably feel like you’re not “one of the elite”, or have some lack of motivation, discipline or desire to be what they want you to be. (It’s a lot easier to brainwash a 21 year old than a 30 year old.)