How Can I Turn Things Around?

I’m a 26 year old undergraduate in a top Canadian University. I’ve taken seven years so far for various reasons - mental health problems, taking two years out of school due to covid. My current major is history and philosophy. GPA isn’t great either. I originally intended to double major in math or computer science but may do so after this degree. The rationale is that the added tech and quant knowledge might be an asset and that I could perhaps combine the two skillsets in some way. I’m looking to get a job in finance and want to break in via becoming a CFA Charterholder. Now I have a four month summer ahead - no internships (though I have done some before, most relevant one was in financial journalism). I currently plan to do CFA I this August. A little more about me - I have had previous involvement in somewhat interesting clubs - climate and cutting edge tech.What suggestions would any of you have for me regarding the path ahead?

If you want to go into finance - You could go into the military for a few years and then apply for MBA programs and then try to work your way in. Or you could apply for masters in finance programs, and then try to get into their recruiting cycle. Or you can try to get into a large company in a less desirable role, for instance a middle office role, and then lateral into another role. Or you can try to go work for a small firm doing what you want, and then work into a better firm. Or you can network and hope you strike a jackpot.

So you have a few options. I’d probably go with the military.

1 Like

Thanks @birdman12345. I’ve been told that so much extra education is actually unnecessary and that the CFA teaches you the bulk of what you need to know, at least for asset management/equity research. I’m also female identifying so I would rather not join the military - do any paths for pursuing the master track come to mind despite the GPA? for example publications, extra curricular activities…