how did you break out of the back office/ops?

its difficult to put into words how over accounting/taxation I am (im an accg manager in an ibank), but im pretty desperate to get out of the field. obviously im aware that having lvlv 2or 3 behind me will make a fair bit of difference (at the moment im sitting lvl 1). just interested to hear from those that have successfully made the transfer! how did you go about it, and what do you think helped you along? thanks

June 2009 level 3 candidate here. I would be interested in learning about some stories related to the topic. I myself am trying hard to break out of back office, but am not able to. Currently working with the technology ventures group of a US based conglomerate supporting them with research and analysis on technology investments. Anyone with some strategies to break into FO role. There were some threads around moving from IT to Finance. Can we have some discussion around breaking from finance BO to FO? Can someone share their experience and strategies? After the L2 results I have floated my resume and cover letter on company (IBs, AMCs, PE/VCs) websites, recruiters (of my knowledge) and alumni, but, have not yet received any convinsing replies. Alumni have said that the industry is not in a shape to take candidates without experience, most of them have freezed their hiring and are only focusing on lateral placements. Also, none of the companies are ready to invest on training. The situation is really very grim. I can’t see the end of the tunnel. Any suggestions will be much appreciated. Thanks in advance.