How I passed Level II with 100 Hours of studying

When deciding between Schweser and Wiley, this forum was incredibly helpful so I’m taking this opportunity to give back. I am by no means saying that this is the approach you should take. This is just a description of my approach.

First, I am not incredibly smart, so I personally believe many people are over-estimating the time it takes to pass or they have an inefficient way of studying. I studied 100 hours in total (including time on questions).

Second, my background is in Science and I am a CPA. My accounting knowledge definitely helped a little, but I am Canadian so I pretty much had to read the entire Accounting section as I knew nothing about US GAAP. Unlike many other candidates, I have no knowledge of economics/finance/business concepts outside of what I read in the news and what I learned from Level I.

Third, if you choose to take a similar approach, I would recommend ~120 hours minimum. I was short approximately 20 hours of review from being completely comfortable going into the exam.

Fourth, for skeptics, you can choose to believe whatever you like. This is my truthful experience.

Tools/Materials/Comments:

(1) Wiley Study Guides - Lays out concepts much more clearly than Schweser. Also, Schweser formatting looks like it hasn’t been updated since the 90s. I used Schweser for Level I. Wiley is in a different league.

(2) Wiley 11th Hour Guide - I used the 11th Hour Guide exclusively to study. I only referred to the study guides for concepts I needed help with and to review examples. I tabbed complex concepts and examples so I could easily refer back to them for final review.

(3) Wiley Formula Sheets - As I went through the guides, I condensed all the key concepts and scribbled them into this 90+ page formula book. I tabbed pages with good summaries and complex formulas so I could easily refer back to them for final review.