How much credit card debt do you have?

?

I personally try to pay all my credit card balances before they accrue interest. Aside from a slightly greater penchant for travel and a nicer apartment, the rest of my lifestyle hasn’t changed all that much since I graduated from university almost ten years ago.

Not to gloat, but I’m proud to say I have never paid a fee, interest expense, or other charge on a credit card. Call me old fashion, but I live within my means and only buy what I can afford.

Most of my life I’ve always paid in full. The only times I’ve had significant balances of any kind have been the result of unemployment plus recession.

I’ve carried decent amounts of debt at various points, but have gotten to do a hell of a lot of impromptu globe stomping over the past three years. Totally worth it IMHO. Different prioritiesi I guess.

I guess we all need something to be proud of! YOLO

Basically, the rules for debt I use are:

It’s ok to use debt for:

1. resolving timing issues betwen cash inflows and outflows, provided the interest rate is not excessive. Travel can fit here (and home mortgages), provided future net cash flow estimates are realistic.

2. financing productive activities with expected returns higher than the interest rate (and, ideally, that difference sufficient to justify the risk of not working out, though I didn’t think about this aspect in my pre-finance days).

If it doesn’t fit one of these two conditions, the only remaining reason for taking on debt is:

1. emergencies, when there is no other source of funding and effectively no choice (e.g. medical emergencies, unemployment (in combination with cutting lifestyle expenses), etc.).

==

The underlying principle behind all of this is “Never use debt to finance consumption, unless you already know how you are going to pay for it. Or it’s an emergency and there’s no other option.”

What works for the country also seems to work for the individual. indecision