How Much of a Pay Cut Would You Take?

Hi Guys, This question is more for those who are not in the area they are working towards just yet. Just wondering how much of a pay cut you would consider accepting to get a foot in the door? I have a few years experience, but there are a few Grad positions that are being advertised for ER, the only thing is that the pay is substantially lower than what I receive now. I think that it would be a good opportunity to get a foot in the door, and a great chance to learn the ropes - just curious as to how much of a pay cut everyone thinks is acceptable? Cheers

Many people here have stated that they will go as far as working for free for the first 6 months.

It seems like you should do some research on expected earnings progression for the positions that you are interested in. Presumably, you would only switch if you could expect to eventually make more money than you currently do.

ER in a hospital trumps ER the excel monkey

i’ll take a pay hike and go do something totally different if available. f**k pay cuts

^ Ignore this guy, he has no idea what equity research is like as shown from his other posts. That or he’s just bitter he’s not in ER. Anyway, I wouldn’t say just look at the money. If ER is what you want you really want to do, and it will make you happy or excited going to work, I’d say that’s very valuable.

^clown the notion that one should take a big pay cut, or sell their skills for free just to “get a foot in the door” is just lack of self respect. whats so great about ER if you’re not gonna be there for the pay? enlighten us, if you’re in ER, whats your sense of fulfilment since obviously monetary compensation is not important to you