How this software guy (me) went 3 for 3 - Part 2

In my previous post a few days ago, I gave a description of myself (software industry, no business background, current consultant) and said I would outline the process I’ve used to go 3 for 3. Most of my processes are simply best practices, not rocket science. You’ll see that I changed things slightly for the different tests and that I also studied pretty hard. Coming from a different industry, I felt like I really needed to study hard in order to pass. Also, I really don’t think there are any shortcuts due to the volume of material. The Cliff’s Notes version is: I used Schweser exclusively, spent 1 hour per every 10 Schweser pages on average (I believe this avg’ed ~5-10 hrs/week), made my own note cards, finished all material 4-5 weeks before the test, reviewed and took 4-5 sample tests before the exam. Here’s the gory detail: CFA Books – I started studying 5 months before each test. I purchased the CFA curriculum books, but only actually opened those 2 or 3 times cumulatively. I had initially started reading them from the start, starting with Ethics, but I didn’t feel I could get through all of them in 3-4 months so I abandoned that plan and used Schweser exclusively. Repeat—I used Schweser exclusively to pass all 3 tests. (One exception is that I did read the complete Ethics section in the CFA curriculum about 5 days before each exam and strongly recommend doing that. Other than that I looked up a few definitions from time to time.) Most of the CFA books have never been opened. I simply used them as a safety net in case I didn’t understand something, and I would recommend everyone do that as well. Schweser and Prep Course - I used the Schweser study guides exclusively. I signed up for a CFA prep course for both L1 and L2, offered via my local CFA org and taught through a local university. The course met every Saturday for 2 to 3 hours and used the Schweser material as the curriculum. The best thing about the cours