How to become a research analyst?

So I eventually want to become a portfolio manager (I understand it’s like 12-15 years down the line? I’m entry level) and I heard that the entry point is usually through buy side or sell side research. What are some ways I could get into research? Would they hire me for equity research if I had FP&A experience? or staff accountant experience? Basically I’m asking what’s the lowest hanging fruit I can grab to get on the road to becoming a portfolio manager.

I have a bachelor’s in economics, associate’s in accounting and experience doing content review, customer service/cashier work and operations. so nothing directly relevant. but I’m applying to junior accountant type roles for now. I get calls back, but I’m horrible at interviews so no job yet.

“Portfolio Manager.” Please elaborate.

from my understanding, it’s this:

“A Portfolio manager (PM) oversees the management of investment portfolios for their clients. Clients include pension funds, banks, hedge funds, wealth management firms, insurance companies, charities, and family offices. The PM is responsible for maintaining the proper asset mix and investment strategy that suits the client’s needs.”

Like somebody on the buy-side. A position that CFA charter is supposed to be good for. I’m not sure what types of portfolio manager there are.

Right, well this is what I’m getting at. You need to think about what it is about the job that appeals to you, why you want to do it. There are many different PMs out there. Equity, fixed income, model portfolios, etc. etc. endlessly. Having a sense of what kind of PM you want to be is enormously helpful to figuring out your “optimal” entry point, if there is such a thing.