How to get into the relevant job experience roles?

So I graduated in 2015 and last minute instead deciding to pursue my CFA instead of my CPA designation. I live in the greater Toronto area in Canada and I failed to take advantage of the on campus recruiting. Fast forward to now and I’m working an accounts payable job and I’m 23 right now. The accounts payable job is my first real full-time job and I’m working as much as I can while trying to break into the relevant finance positions. I passed level 1 last year and I"m waiting for the results for my level 2 exam (coming in a week).

I guess my question is how does someone with no relevant work experience break into the industry and eventually secure that analyst position. In the long run I want to work in private equity but right now that is kind of a pipe dream.

I’m open to any suggestions and I’m willing to network to get that job! These are the suggestions I have received so far:

1. Get a teller job in the bank(have applied to some but didn’t get hired) - I have also lurked these forums sometimes and some people are against this idea.

2. Get your CPA first as it may help land those roles in time (Sounds solid but it might take too long)

3. Fund accounting

1. AP sucks, but probably better than bank teller. Never get a bank teller position.

2. I hate accounting 3) I hate accounting AP is probably under the CFO, right? So just move up the ladder a little bit and then you’re probably going to have to go to H/S/W to have a shot at PE with your experience. Its a long shot though.

You’re basically toast unless you know someone. Really, nepotism is your only hope here.

You could look at applying to some entry level roles at fund co. (CI, Sun Life, etc) or consider development programs (Manulife, Sun Life) which have tracks for CPA and CFA.

What are your ideal roles or rather relevant roles you want to pursue?

some suggestions:

learn modeling

learn programming language (python imo)

network

network