How useful is a CFA for candidates in non-financial jobs?

Hi, I’m sure this question of mine has been debated many times over but will really like to know your opinion. I realise that there are a fair amount of engineering/science graduates taking the CFA course in hope of a more lucrative career change, but the usual reply is CFA is not useful if you don’t have related work experience (which I agree). I am 30 and just passed Level 1 this year. My first degree is in Engineering and I have a PhD in Physics from a top UK uni. For the past 6 years, I have been working for an electronic engineering-based MNC company in the UK. Although my job is fairly comfortable at present, I’m somewhat unsettled and would like to switch fields (or start applying) to finance jobs when I complete the CFA course. I’ve read hundreds of articles claiming MBA is what I should be doing and not CFA, and yes I agree… but CFA is a self-study/part-time and cheaper course, compared to an MBA which can cost almost USD 50-100K in fees alone per year. MBA is a big bet which I am can’t afford to take at present. Hence, my questions is: ‘Do you think the CFA will help in my position (the earliest I can complete the CFA course is when I am 32, which is quite old)’? Thank you for your thoughts.

http://www.analystforum.com/phorums/read.php?1,1035098

My view is that you will have to take a pay cut or lose your seniority if you change careers, or both. Is it worth it? You are the best judge. An MBA seems much better - if you are keen on a management job as opposed to the technical skills from CFA. There are a couple of guys here who have Phds and they are more qualified to give you a better advice - especially how the charter helped them switch to finance and at what stage of their career. Good luck.