Huge Issue with Colleague

I am an analyst at a relatively small shop. There are a handful of analysts, including myself. Like any other investment firm (buyside), we are required to submit our brokerage statement every month. Everyone does this except one analyst who claims that he doesn’t invest in stock personally, which is a legitimate reason. During happy hours one day, we went out with a group of friends (him, me and other friends) and he was in a moody state (not talking to anyone, just drinking hard)… and I asked him what was wrong… and he told me that he lost a ton of money investing in XYZ in the last two weeks. I went about my business not thinking much of it… until I later realized the two conflicting info (losing money on a stock and yet not submitting a brokerage statement). I confronted him and he told me he doesn’t recall our conversation and reiterate that he doesn’t invest in stock. To me… something just simply doesn’t seem right. Now… normally, I wouldn’t care about anyone’s personal investment/behavior but I took exception to this lie. We invest in very illiquid securities at time (takes many months just to build a sizeable position), and his purchases could have a material impact. I confronted our CFO, who is also in charge of compliance ,about the very issue, but he said that there really is nothing he can do… I asked the CFO to keep our conversation, confidential… In any case, is there a way for employer to check an employee’s brokerage statement without permission? Or does this analyst basically have free reign? Thanks.

Not really, but his broker needs to check to make sure he doesn’t work for a company with reporting requirements. I agree that this is a serious problem and the CFO should take it more seriously. The firm can get in a lot of trouble if someone finds out that the guy who says he is not trading stocks is front-running or trading on insider info. Very dumb.