Human Capital

I am getting confused here. So my human capital is equity like (I work in Finance), does it mean my financial capital should be in fixed income securities? As per general rule- at younger age, most of your portfolio should be allocated to equities. Any insight?

human capital is similar to a fixed income bond. you recieve cheque instead of coupon.

a paycheque that is.

I think the CFAI readings contradict themselves. LOS 19©: (1) Younger investors should invest aggressively. Human capital often investor’s largest single asset. (2) Young man in workforce may have more equity-like human-capital…will fluctuate w/mkt, indus. performance, etc… So, there’s a contradiction: (1) implies you invest in equities, all-in. (2) implies fixed-income if your human capital’s equity-like. For yourself, you work in Finance… industry’s highly correlated with the portfolio returns, so would invest more in fixed-income. I think where this would be tested is exactly the example you give… see if we understand the differentiation for a young person working in a highly correlated industry.

whystudy, that is not true. Human Capital is essentially describing the future earnings stream, whether from actual employment or things like pension payments. It is true some folks will see very stable earnings in the future because of their career, but others will have volatile earnings that are no where near FI like. As a general rule if your Human Capital is equity like (in your example you work in finance), you might be wise to balance that out with a Financial Capital that is more FI tilted. Similarly if you were a tenured college professor with very FI like human capital you could tilt your financial capital portfolio more towards equity.