I guess I am doing something wrong

Just graduated from a state university with finance and accounting. Not a very known school. I had 3.8 GPA. I am looking for jobs, not one reply from anywhere. I was working full time while going to school ( I am an older student). Now that I am finally done, I started looking for jobs in Finance. I was one of the best in my school and yet I feel like a reject. What am I doing wrong? Does my dual major and high GPA mean nothing? I am ready to take anything at this point but not even a single internship offer has come my way. Is it really that hard to get in?

What sort of jobs are you applying for?

Get used to it…I’m very similar- Just graduated from a State University/ 3.8 Major GPA-Finance/ 3.8 Minor GPA- Accountancy/ 2 Financial Advisor internships/ Past Level I CFA exam last June and plan on sitting for Level II exam this June. I’ve gotten a lot of interviews but can’t land anything. Today I got the rejection call from a hedge fund/investment firm I interviewed at last Thursday. I’ve interviewed at a few corporate finance places and have seen the same negative results. It sucks and is quite discouraging.

you have to apply to 100 places to get maybe 10 interviews and get MAYBE one offer. keep at it. to answer your questions YES it is this hard and most people have a very hard time to get into the industry. GPA is not enough you have to be passionate about what you are doing.

It sucks, and I’ve been there. But remember, you can afford to fail a lot - it only takes ONE success to get you in the door.