I had my first Interview and it scarred me for life

Hi there guys This morning I had my first “interview”

Due to the kindness of an acquaintance, I got an interview for an off-cycle internship in a small, local IB in Dubai. I live in Iran and I’m in my last year of industrial engineering bachelors so as you can guess I was psyched. I sent them my CV and they called me to talk to me, tell me a little about the opportunity and ask me some questions. I told them that I know a little bit about what I was in for, since I’ve done the BIWS courses and I’ve passed all the Iranian Capital Markets Professional Certifications, they especially liked the fact that I knew Arabic (it’s not really used in Iran). The second phone call was from the same guy who called last time. he asked me if it’s possible for me to come to Dubai in the next few weeks. of course, I said yes, got my visa, booked a hotel room and plane tickets and came here.

The interview: Today I went to the bank and introduced myself in the lobby, they told me where to go so I went there and no one was there. after a few minutes, this guy came into the room, took a look at me and without any kind of introduction (not even a “hi”) told me in Arabic: there must’ve been a mistake here, you don’t look “white”. He then told me that they only want people of European descent “since that’s what our clients like” and without waiting for my answer he told me that they can not offer me an internship. he waited a few seconds and told me that “you can go now”.

I walked out of the building hailed a cab and came back to my hotel room. tomorrow morning I’m going back to Iran. and this was my first job interview.

TL;DR: was thrown out of an internship interview cause I’m not white