I have a Non American/Canadian Last name....

And Even though I was born and raised in Canada, I feel that it might be used against me when submitting my resumes through screeners/HR who may be temted to dismiss my resume because they might feel I am a new immigrant (not that theres anything wrong with being a new immigrant), but you know what I mean. Other than the fact that my resume says I graduated in 2004, for all the HR person knows is that I arrived here in 2000 and I am still working on my english skills. basically I wanted to know what you guys think by putting beside my “Excellent Communication Skills” a little blurb in brackets (English; Mother Tongue) etc… Thoughts?

Is your first name non American / Canadian as well? I think there are studies out there that show a name can make a difference, yes.

I dont think it really makes a difference if your education and experience is canadian …

I’ve seen a case where a someone whose name was Jose’ shortened it to Joe. Even though he grew up in Texas and spoke fine English, he explained a stigma was attached to his name. Granted your last name cannot be altered, no harm in shortening/modifying your first name.

Definitely mention what your mother tongue/native language is. It’s unfortunate that HR has the proclivity to dismiss your resume based on your last name, but assuming that you don’t plan on changing your last name to “Smith” or “Johnson,” make sure you do a heck of a job on your resume as well. On another note, does anyone know why “Lee” is a surname that occurs so frequently across multiple ethnicities? In professional baseball alone, there are players whose last names are “Lee” that are Chinese, Taiwanese, Korean, Black, Hispanic, English, or just plain ol’ American. I’m sure there are other nationalities that I can’t think of at the moment.