I need a subject for my bachelor's thesis

I’m studying accounting and finance and I’m planning on writing my bachelors thesis on corporate finance. I just haven’t figured out a subject yet. I don’t want it to bee too theoretical. Something practical. So could you help me and give some suggestions?

Examine the impact of mark-to-market accounting on financial companies. Extremely current and practical. Many financial firms have been forced to take huge negative marks on positions based on market indices such as the ABX and the CMBX. There are plenty of people who would agree with me that these indices reflect unrealistically bearish scenarios and that the write-downs are too large. The reason is that they are some of the only liquid vehicles for this type of investment and therefore they attract massive shorts from speculators and those who need to hedge their positions. See recent WSJ articles on the subject for more info. Unfortunately, this is not merely a “GAAP/Non-GAAP” issue, because firms are being forced to raise capital in order to meet regulatory requirements. These unneccessary (or at least unnecessarily large) financings are extremely dilutive at current prices and crippling to both the companies and their existing shareholders. Edit: P.S. - I wrote a thesis-like paper on the benefits of fair-value accounting when I was in college about a decade ago. I have obviously re-thought my position (at least as it pertains to regulatory capital requirements).

Thanks for your suggestion. That would be a good idea but I don’t want to write the thesis on anything related to financial accounting. It should be about corporate finance and managerial finance.