I need some advices on my career.

Hi guys, I am a recent graduate from University of Waterloo with a math degree. My career goal is to become an equity analyst or a fund manager, so I want to start off my career in the banking/finance industries. I have no real work experience in the banking/finance institution. Only certificate I have now is CSC. I am broke so I can’t afford to pay my CFA level one at this moment. I have been looking for work in Toronto for a month and half, so far 2 phone interviews for trading assistant and no luck. I heard people saying TO is a bad place to work since the competition is intense, pay is low and tax is high. So what other cities are good for a young buck like me? Can you guys recommend me any non-Canadian career web sites. (PS the top 3 cities I prefer are Toronto, Shanghai and NY. )

If you can’t get into toronto, you won’t get into NY. CSC won’t get you anywhere. Perhaps consider taking a retail banking job for a couple years. This will do a couple things. 1) at least give you (albeit less than relevant) financial work experience 2) money to take and pass your CFA levels 3) money to save for an MBA. Then when you’re ready, go back to do your MBA and make the tranfer to the capital markets after you have an MBA and a couple levels of the CFA… Don’t like this option (plan)? You have no business background by the sounds of it so that’s not helping. Pony up the $600 to the level I in june. You’ll get their curriculum books which although not idea, will put you on the right track. Keep applying for jobs in toronto. Search other threads here for how people get ahead and noticed when applying for jobs. My go to advice, do an initiating research report on a small cap company you know a lot about. Include that stapled to the back of your resume. good luck. tough times await.

a month and a half is nothing, just look harder