I would like some advice

I would like some advice. I am considering studying for the CFA program, but I am not sure it is appropriate for me or whether it would actually aid my career prospects. Academically, I have a humanities background (Undergraduate in English Literature, Masters in Journalism) and I currently work in Corporate Public Relations. I am reasonably confident that I can handle the quantitative aspects of the CFA (I have a pretty strong background in math; a few years of calculus and a couple of semesters of statistics). I am interested in Finance and Investing, but I am not sure whether the CFA alone would actually be enough to even get me an entry level position, since I have no previous work experience in that area. My question: Should I pursue the CFA while keeping my current job, and hope that I will be able to get something when I complete the three year process. Or should I go a different route (M.B.A., etc.) and not waste my nights and weekends on studying for something the ultimately won’t help me out. I would appreciate any advice!