If I fail in August, should I retake?

I originally come from South Korea and came to London for studying. I took my level 1 when I was doing my masters in London about 10 years ago (not even sure when, it was such a long time ago). After I passed the level 1, I got married and looked for a job in London. As a foreigner in London, it wasn’t easy to get a job in investment banking, even though I was an analyst in Seoul. I had more experience as an accountant in Korea than as an analyst. Whenever I got an interview, I got an accountant role. I should have waited… but I didn’t. I took the accountant role as my first job.

My accountant license was not able to use in London, I had to retake all the exams to have an ACCA (accountancy exam in UK). Since then I got back into financial market somehow, worked in private equity for 7 years and now working in equity management firm (global and japanese strategy) as CFO. I didn’t take the level 3 exam as it would enhance my career. I took it because I passed level 2 and only one more level to complete, so I wanted to finish it.

English is not my first language. Since I studied/married/worked in London, my speaking English is pretty good, but my writing is terrible (my English husband always jokes with me). So, I studied over 300 hours for level 3 exam. As I am getting older, I do not have much of memory retention and the sheer amount of material to cover almost killed me.

During the exam, I ran out of time in AM session and left 2 sub questions unanswered (I think both were 5 marks each) (I didn’t know how to answer them anyway) and the afternoon session was ok but cannot even estimate what mark I would get.

Not sure if I fail this, what to do…

Dont worry about things that havent happended.

Unless CFO means something else at your equity research firm, it seems like you definitely do not need the CFA.