I'm Thankful for

1. My health.

2. Family.

3. The abilities God gave me to make a difference in the world.

4. My solid relationships in life.

5. AF -> My outlet for griping about CFA vs. MBA, M’n’A’in on the Buyside, Strip Clubs, Colon Clensing, and the like.

Needless to say I feel very blessed. Sound off what you’re thankful for. As you can see I’m a little sentimental at the moment.

1. My fairly good health (and improving, now that I’m taking better care of myself).

I’ve always been on the chubby side, but I’m fitter now than I’ve pretty much ever been, even as my high school, college, and grad school friends are filling out. I’m still the same weight as I was when I graduated college, but it’s distributed much better, muscle mass replacing fat. I can still stand to lose some more, but it’s all moving in the right direction, and I’m at a place where I feel good about myself.

1. My friends (both new and old). There can come a time when you feel like your friends have all moved out of town, settled down, and there’s no one new to meet. But the last year and a half have brought a lot of new life into my social sphere, and it’s been great. Old friends are great for reminding you of your roots and providing perspective on your life. New friends are great for adding that sense of growth and possibility about your future.

2. Family? My family is screwy, mostly because my father liked crazy women. Poor guy. He himself was a stand-up guy with integrity, brains, and a work ethic, but the women he chose just walked all over him (and pretty much anyone else they could). I fared better than my stepbrothers, but I often wonder how much smoother my life and theirs would have been if we could have been raised by competent, loving women. At least I had him, though, and I’m thankful for that.

I also had some good grandparents, cousins, uncles and aunts, many of whom are still with us.