Impact of quitting on future career

Ok, here’s the deal. I currently work as a broker, and I go to school at night to earn my MSF. However, the hours at work are definitely not doing my any favors in regards to studying and/or life in general.

Since I no longer want to do anything involving the public, I am thinking about quitting my job and doing my graduate degree and the CFA simultaneously. There is already a significant amount of overlap, and if I am not working a job, I will have considerable time to get this done.

However, I really, really worry about my future career and having to explain why I haven’t worked in over a year. What say you guys?

I already have a scholarship paying for half of my ride, and my wife is a doctor so we’re not hurting for money. I just want to see if you guys think I lost my mind?

If that’s the case you’re much better off going back to school full-time, if that’s possible for MSF. Your reasons for wanting to drop work make sense to be, but most employers simply see candidates as unemployable if they’ve been out of work for some prolonged period of time.

Also, this may be my own editorial here but I think that’s a lot to put on your wife. The earnings power of doctors isn’t what it used to be and continues to be at risk, if any of the thousands of headlines out of Congress in recent years are any indication. Good on her if she’s willing to back you on this…you’d be a very lucky man.

Depends on what you are looking to do. If you are doing the same type of stuff, a break will be weird. But if you’re looking to do something different, then I see no reason why it’s a dealbreaker for an employer to see you went back to do a full time school program.