In Memory of Benoit Mandelbrot

As we all know he has recently passed on, but for years was more than a credible critic of classical finance theory. While the discussion of Gaussian dists and the argument against it with reference to BM was brought up here before: http://www.analystforum.com/phorums/read.php?1,830472,830494#msg-830494 Maybe it worth revisiting it, in “The Misbehavior of Markets” Mandelbrot mentions CFA curriculum and Gaussian dist in it … Considering the events of the Great Credit Crunch/Great Panic of 2008. Do you think it is time to address the problems with Gaussian dist in the exams ? Do you think that perhaps stochastic calc and alternatives to the Gaussian curve should be introduced? Perhaps some watered down version of Mandelbrot set … ?

What kind of Mandlebrot set question do you think is an appropriate one for the CFA exam? Can you write a sample question that would be clearly relevant in a practitioner setting?

Well, I cant. I am new to CFA curriculum, and I have not studied “Mandelbrotian” models. If Manderlbrot Set is not relevant then lets forget it. However, “The Misbehavior of Markets” Mandelbrot presented a very strong argument against Gaussian dist as a staple in financial theory and practice and particularly in the context of CFAs on one occasion. I think history proved him right to a certain extent. You think CFA curriculum should not “lead the way?” And only update to what is actually used in the field, and question the effectiveness ?