Independent ER or corporate law?

Hi all, I’m a recent undergraduate in Australia with two competing job offers: one is as an equity research analyst in an independent firm, the other is in a top-tier corporate law firm. My objectives are to do an MBA at a top-five B-school in the US or at LBS within the next 3-5 years (I got 760 on the GMAT, and don’t want to let it go to waste!). After that, if I’m still interested in finance, I’d ideally go into VC, or failing that, PE or a hedge fund. Which offer puts me in a better position to do what I want? The analyst position would give me experience with, well, analysis and modelling, and I think would be a bit more interesting. On the other hand: - M&A lawyers get great exit opportunities into IBD, and I would assume this extends to PE, etc as well; - the law firm has fantastic name recognition overseas, especially in London, where a legal job in the City might really help open doors in finance; - if I change my mind about finance later down the track, I can’t go back to the law.