INVESTMENT ANALYST...what do they do?

So I was looking at some job bank websites, and i came upon a job which was entitlled Investment Anlyst.Whihc intrigued me, any IA’s here? can someone perhaps shed some light on what they do? what the salaries are like? and whether it would be a positive learning experience??? I looked through the search function, and there seems to be varying opinions on the actually job function of an investment analyst. So any help would be appreciated. Thanks!

Where was the posting at? I think the term is used rather loosely and the duties can range significantly based on the company/industry you work for/in. I’m an investment analyst at a power company and we do the economic analysis on greenfield and brownfield projects as well as analyze M&A opportunities and divestitures. DCF, DCF, DCF. Gets interesting when you start to incorporate taxes and assess different leveraging options. The experience can be easily used in any role involving valuations, and the skill set is easily transferable to any industry.

As glendronach said, the term “investment analyst” is very loosely defined. Most of the time an investment analyst position would mean that you are simply benchmarking and researching a subset of money managers.