Is CFA a right choice for me?

Dear All,

I am a lawyer who plans to specialize in corporate sector (project finance, M&A, venture law, restructuring etc.) and would be working in US, UAE or UK. I have already completed my LL.M from Harvard and have taken the NY Bar exam as well. I don’t have an undergrad in accounting and finance, but I have studied some corporate finance in my LL.M and economics in undergrad. What do you suggest, which charter certification would be most helpful for my career? I would really like to hear your reasons:

1. CFA;

2. CPA (US, Australian, or Canadian (please mention));

3. ACCA;

4. CA;

5. Other –(?)

Thanks!

I recommend working at a big corporate law firm and stressing to the hiring manager you want to focus on deals.

Once you have had a little experience with each type (M&A, restructuring,etc) you can either work to become good friends with the partners who specialize in them, or you can make a jump over to an investment bank/in-house company.

At that point, you will have a better idea of which if any designation you want. CPA is great if analyzing or auditing public US companies-CFA is likely unnecessary unless you want to handle investments in the future. A lot of people get burnt out in big law…just a warning to you!

also.law firms outside US have much better work-life balance.

If you can clear all the CFA exams ***BUT do not fulfill the minimum work experience required by the CFAI*** your business card could potentially read as follows:

PakistaniLaywer123, J.D., Passed CFA Level III

#booyah

Thanks for your feedback, will keep all that in mind.

putting that on a printed business card, would look really douchey

^Obviously your sarcasm meter wasn’t on…

#waskidding

what is the difference between llm and jd? similar to pt and ft mba?

networking is probably your best bet… Plenty of big shots at harvard right?

have you talked to WLRK?

http://www.wlrk.com/Firm/