Is CFA Beneficial For Hedge Fund Startup? (Non-Traditional Background: Advice Needed)

I’m looking for some direction regarding pursing the CFA designation with regards to my future hedge fund plan. I have a non-traditional professional background, so looking for some advice on my situation.

I am 36, and graduated with a finance degree in 2001. After school, I spent 1.5 years working at a major warehouse. I didn’t enjoy the sales part of it so I left the industry. On the side, I’ve been trading my personal account/funds since 2001 with varying levels of success…but have always loved trading and following the markets. The past 3 years I have specialized in an index derivatives strategy that is producing very solid/consistent returns. I’ve recently decided to start an incubator fund to get around 2 years of verifiable results with the intention of launching a small hedge fund in 2021.

I’m not looking to manage billions, and probably not even institutional money, but planning to stick with HNW individuals and family offices. I also am not planning to employ dozens of staff, but instead envision a small/lean operation. Even capping out under 50m AUM would be fine by me.

I’m not asking for advice about the above…that is just the background, which brings me to my question.

Would it be beneficial to pursue the CFA designation knowing that it won’t directly impact my trading strategy (I’ve been studying options for 7+ years now, and am comfortable with where I am there), but doing it to mainly to provide credibility to me and my future fund, primarily with raising funds.

I know I would learn and gain more understanding of the investment arena in general, and it would not be a waste of time, but I know how difficult it is and the also know the time commitment involved (I have 5 kids under the age of 8). So in general, I’m sure it would be a positive, but I’m mainly trying to weigh the benefits down the road, versus the costs to acquire it.