Is good MBA still > CFA?

The industry is always changing and I’m wondering whether MBA degrees are still worth the investment. I’m mainly referring to schools right outside the top 10.

Is it worth the cost to get an MBA from one of these peer schools (NYU, Cornell, UVA, Duke, UCLA, Yale, Ross) over trying to break into asset management with CFA? I have some relevant experience but not directly applicable so it’s still somewhat of a transition that I’d be trying to make with only CFA level 1 passed.

The advantage that a MBA has over the CFA is networking and recruitment.

and to add, of course, the better the MBA program, the much stronger network and campus recruitment you get.

If you are looking to “break in” as you say from a tangential role you have now, betting on passing CFA exams alone to get you there is difficult, a top mba has a much better chance of success

the general rule of thumb though is top 10, although because the rankings move around so much, a school like NYU Stern (which is ranked 13?) does fall into that Top 10 category in eyes of most, and bec they ahve a good full time recruitment program with a lot of wall street connections

that’s all the advice that makes sense given your little information about yourself

You’d have a better chance getting in from a top business school simply because, as former trader noted, you have (1) access to recruiting channels and (2) opportunity to credibly spend a TON of time networking. That is what business school is all about. CFA doesn’t help most people get a job on the buy-side unless they were there already.

Still, having said all of that, it all comes down to your quality of your ideas. I have worked with clients ranging from the top business schools to some undergraduate institution that most people haven’t heard of, and many of them have landed six-figure jobs in the industry. For the most part, it came down to the quality of their investment ideas and their ability to crack the buy-side case.