Is Grad School and CFA at same time possible?

I’ll be a full time night grad student persuing my Masters in Finance this fall and i’m working full time. I’m also considering writing the CFA L1 this December. Can anyone who have either passed or failed L1 this past June give me their thoughts on whether or not it’s possible to pass the exam this December or should I wait until grad school is over?

I’ve never been to grad school but maybe if you take a light course load you can do L1. From what I hear, it wouldn’t be advisable for L2 and L3.

Yes it is possible. I am a masters student in finance and have passed level 1 and am waiting for my level 2 results. The masters in finance should help.

I’m in a full time MBA program and just passed level 1, as well as finished my first year of the program. I’ll be doing the same thing this year with level 2 (June) and the 2nd year of the program. I didn’t find it overly terrible to do…I started in say March and would put in about maybe 10-15 hours a week total to the CFA studying. The key for me was whenever school had finished (mid-April), I put in literally 8-10 hours every day (some weeks 6 days, some weeks 7) until exam day. I think for me though working a job on top of all this would have been impossible.

Sure you can. I would recommend taking Managerial accounting, Finance or Executive Economics while taking level 1. Portfolio management, derivative classes are also good addition. I heard some business schools offer CFA related courses, in my case I did not get to know about CFA program until my last class Portfolio management (Author:Zivi ) . Good luck