IT to Finance.

Hey guys, I was just wondering if anyone here has moved from being a IT financial application programmer to being someone who works on the finance side (not programming). If you haven’t, have you heard of anyone managing that successfully and how they went about it? Does passing the CFA help you in that effort? Any inputs would be appreciated. I have been a programmer developing financial software for over 2.5 years now and just cleared my level 1. Thanks, -adb

Hi Amit, One of my friend tried to shift from IT to Finance (Equity Research - Semiconductors) for a small shop in NYC (Manhattan), but due to long working hours (18+ hrs) and other corporate finance issues within the BoD’s, he got smashed on the face and had to abscond off from that job. Finally he is happy with Java programming all over again. Me trying hard to get in too… but don’t think the doors are going to open anytime before 09. Thanks, Dinesh S

I did, I was a programmer developing financial software between 1999 and 2002. I added on some financial courses at university between 1998 and 2002 (part time obviously) and it helped when making the transition. I did obviously not have a CFA charter, since I’m working on Level II now. I know of other people who have made similar transitions. Whether or not I’m managing it successfully is really not for me to tell.

dinesh, are you serious? 18+ hours? I’ve seen commonly 60+ hours per week, which works out to 12+ hrs/day, but 18+?! that leaves you with <6 hrs of sleep per day, assuming you don’t take time to eat, shower, watch tv, go to gym etc… I mean its understandable if this is more of a seasonal thing when it gets busy with earnings announcements… Also, from what I recall reading on this forum, the hours should be better for buy side firms, did your friend work at a sell side firm?