JD/CFA

Does anyone have their JD/CFA? If yes, what do you do? I’m taking LI in December and am waiting for the books.

My teacher in class does – peter olinto

I have a JD from an IVY and completed Level 1 of the CFA during the first semester of my 3L year (I completed a read-through of the Level 2 material during my second semester but could not take the exam because of my bar review course). The content of Level 1 is probably on par with what you would get if you completed an undergrad program in finance from a mid-tier university. I studied biology before law school but had taken courses in corporate finance and accounting prior to undertaking Level 1 and also have some work experience in finance. I studied Sep, Oct, and Nov and passed on my first attempt. If you have no coursework background and/or are numerically challenged (like most law students) I would suggest studying a bit longer. I will be entering BIGLAW in NYC. I am hoping to enter equity research or banking in the healthcare sector after a couple of years.

I’ve been out of law school for 8 years. My practice is Corporate Finance. I went back to school this year to study math. I hope three months will be fine. I am not working right now so i can study full time.

Three months should be fine - if you can do basic algebra you will be alright on the math side. If you are aiming for a banking position the CFA will not be of much use (only to show that you are at least serious about finance and have some aptitude). However, it would add to your total package - assuming you also have the pedigreed educational/firm credentials that banks seem to obsess over. I would not load up on the math courses unless you are interested in a more quant-oriented job (of course then you will be competing with people who have excellent, i.e. Ph.D., quant backgrounds). If you want to get into banking an MBA would likely help you more.