Job dilemma

Hey everyone, I’ve been at my current job for about 8 months, and my contract ends in mid-February. I’m positive that I will either be given an extension or made permanent after this date. The issue however, is that I absolutely dislike what I do, and believe that this position will not get me anywhere in the long run. I’m basically an Analyst in a project team of 4, and we fall under the Asset Liability Management division. While I must admit that I’ve learned a lot in a short period of time, the work we do is not really market-driven at all. This is the part that frustrates me big time. At the moment, I have started to actively look for other opportunities, but my worry is that if I get calls for interviews, I won’t be able to take time off work. I’m not in a position where I can mention this to my manager/senior manager because if I quit at this stage, they will be screwed/pissed etc. I have no clue as to how I should deal with this problem. Since I’m on contract, as per the Bank’s policy, I only have a day-off per month. Any advice would be much appreciated. I realize that eventually I’d have to let them know that I’m looking for other opportunities, but it seems a bit early for that. HELP!

Can you find something within the same company, related moreso to what you’d be interested in doing?

I’m basically an > Analyst in a project team of 4, and we fall under > the Asset Liability Management division. While I > must admit that I’ve learned a lot in a short > period of time, the work we do is not really > market-driven at all. This is the part that > frustrates me big time. > Does that mean that your team invests for the purpose of asset-liability management, but the portfolio doesn’t have any benchmark to monitor the performance?

the portfolio likely uses the liability as benchmark so as long as the assets cover the liability they’re ok