Job offer advice

Hi AF,

I was wondering what do you guys think about my current offers, I’d like to know about those job’s potential exits and career trajectory. Thanks ahead!

1. Credit Analyst for a large bank’s municipal portfolio helping head PMs with due diligence and financial modeling, etc.

2. PE analyst for a real estate + PE alternative fund;

3. Corporate credit analyst for one of the credit rating agencies

I’m more interested in fundamental research and equities in general so I’d like to make the switch to equities at some point. What do you guys think about the potential exits for those three roles if my end goal is to be on either sell or buyside equities or distressed debt fund? Thanks!

If you don’t mind me asking, what is your previous experience/education?

Sure I was a corporate distressed credit analyst for a couple years before I did a one year master’s program in finance.

How big is the PE firm/fund?

I’d steer away from 3 since you have better paths to research/eq in the above two. 2 is a bit focused but if it’s a good firm might be worth grabbing. 1 is a great opportunity for your end goal though but 2 is worth exploring too imo.

Thanks mk17, PE is about 4bn, but only around 1bn in the US. Can you elaborate on why I should steer away from #3? The job profile is pretty similar to what I did before as a credit analyst-financial modeling, industry analysis, etc. Thanks!

Another concern is that would taking the municipal portfolio management job pidgeon-hole me since it is a relatively niche market, how transferrable are the skills to equity or distressed debt investing?

PE offer

No-brainer. Especially when your other offers are to be a credit analyst.

Yeah but you will be pigeonholed in RE. You wanna do REIT research?

Klaudnine,