job prospects after level I

I finished my Bachelors in Accounting Last year, and will be writing my level I in June in 2009. I was wondering if there are prospects of getting a decent job in the industry with clearing level I? Also, since I have done Accounting , would it be safe to say that it will be easier for me to get the grasp of the accounting material Thanks

CFA 1 will not help you get a job.

ditto

People will take you a little more seriously when networking, but that is about as good as it gets.

ask daj.

After Level I you should be fine for CFO level positions, if you want to make it to CEO though, you’ll have to pass Level II.

Yeah I mean I would concurr. CFA Level 1 means you passed AN exam. You didn’t pass all three and you don’t have the qualified work experience necessarily. Willy

If your undergrad and past experience weren’t in the financial industry somewhere, passing L1 does let people know that you know some finance basics, like simple equity valuation, bond valuation, what options are, etc… If you don’t have a finance background, saying that you passed L1 and are working on L2 does help start some conversations that could go places. But I don’t think someone is going to say. Ah look, he/she’s got L1 down, let’s go get them. If you’re already in the finance world, it probably doesn’t help you much, other than to signal that you are (presumably) intending to go for all three levels eventually.

CFA L1 can be a tiebreaker, but don’t expect it to have the same appeal as a top degree or great experience.

needhelp Wrote: ------------------------------------------------------- > ask daj. man neeedhelp, do you ever say anything useful? anyways, it helps a bit, but not a lot. It shows you are now in the game, rather than outside looking in.