Jump from HNW to more analytical role

I graduated from a good business school in 2006 and have been working for a large wealth management firm since graduation. I have enjoyed the experience as I have had the opportunity to learn a lot about the financial markets and they have sponsored my pursuit of the CFA (current Level II candidate). That being said, I don’t think this field best suits my strengths. While I do enjoy interacting with clients, I don’t inherently have that sales type personality that is essential to move to the top in this industry. My initial plan was to make progress towards the CFA designation and then make the jump to sell-side research and then to the buy-side. I came close to landing such a role on several occasions last year but ultimately was passed on. Given the current environment and the lay-offs being experienced at sell-side firms, is pursuing a sell-side gig too risky and maybe an even a waste of time? If so, what is the best course of action towards my goal of working as an analyst on the buy-side? My experience so far has been that it is hard to get an interview for a “pure” analyst position with my experience in HNW as most firms seem to be looking for either kids right out of school or experience as an analyst. While I consider my current job to be a good one with plenty of job security, I do not want to miss the boat. I feel that the longer I stay in my current role, the harder it will be to find an analyst gig.

wow im in the same boat as you mane. im sticking with it. we are lucky to have jobs and gaining experience. in fact, explaining to HNW mbrs over and over again that they should stick with us after losing 40% is a once in a lifetime experience. if you can make it through this, hopefully it wont get worse. Your option is to get the CFA or not get the CFA. What do you think improves your chances of a better employment opportunity? Sh*t or get off the pot